top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNerea O

Review of Not All Camels are in the Desert by Pamela S. Gockley

Updated: May 6, 2022

“Not all Camels are in the Desert.” When I read this title, I became curious and couldn’t help but get a copy of the book. The title is eye-catchy, and it creates a curious urge to know more about the story. If asked, this is probably one of the unique book titles I have ever come across.


You are probably wondering, “Is the book about camels in a different location other than in the desert?” If yes, have you heard of “Do not only judge a book by the look on its cover?” Well, upon opening the pages of the book to peer into its contents, I was surprised because I did not expect to find what I read in the book.


Not all Camels are in the Dessert by Pamela S. Gockley is an exceptional memoir and how-to guidebook. The author mentioned Camel Project in the book, which seeks to provide a safe space for children and young adults, which will prevent them from bullying. There is a detailed summary of the project and the author at the beginning pages of the book.


As a child, the author went through a lot of heartbreaking experiences. Being brought up in a family with an alcohol addictive dad, struggling to catch up in school because of various reasons that made her seem unique and different from other students, and getting caught up in a felony were some of her childhood experiences she persevered.


The author’s life story will inspire children and adults struggling with dyslexic disorder. Reading through her experiences from childhood to adulthood, as she narrated, I concluded that the underlying cause of her pangs in her early life journey was this disorder. I am glad to share that upon becoming aware of her condition, the author did not give in to discouragement or cowardice, but she worked things out and made the good out of her situation.


As an ambassador of dyslexic individuals and those at risk, she has provided tips to help people living with dyslexic disorders improve and create an impressive reputation that will draw genuine respect and connections from the people around them. She has also highlighted and explained the 4Ds involved in the self-awareness journey of dyslexic individuals. The idea is to help them grow and become excellent people.


People with special conditions are prone to bullying, especially at work, school, or other social gatherings. Growing up, Pamela was bullied, and she did not like the experience. She was even nicknamed “Camel” by a friend, which she didn’t take to be a positive complement. I expected to hear more about what happened to their friendship, but I think the author chose to give the readers what is more relevant for inspiration. In this book, she has raised awareness on who is a bully, providing traits that identify a bully. She has also provided tips on how to deal with bullies.



I liked the author’s genuineness in sharing her personal life story, creating the impression that she is empathetic and would love to help, especially people with special conditions. I loved the writing style, which is excellent, presented from all perspectives in a conversational tone. The author’s manner of narration is impeccable, blended with ideal choices of words that paint a vivid picture of every event that make-up the narrative. Some experiences are emotional. These experiences got my eyes covered in tears when I read through them. It is easy to understand and connect with the author by how she expresses herself through her writing.


The book portrays invaluable information that many readers will benefit from. If you’d like to learn a bit about the dyslexic disorder and the struggles that come with it, you can grab a copy of the book.


I learned a lot from the book that has helped me adjust my perception of certain situations. I was helped to remember that my words, actions, and behaviors are the pillars of my reputation. So with that, I think I will be careful with my words and actions when I engage with others.


The book is a perfect piece that will benefit all readers in general. Readers with low self-esteem or those experiencing difficulties coping with dyslexic disorder and bullying will especially find comfort and hope from reading this book.



18 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page